History | What is the Joint Council? | Leadership | SponsorsWorking Groups | Delegations

The U.S.-Indonesia Joint Council on Higher Education Partnership, or “Joint Council,” was established on July 29, 2010 as a bi-national organization aimed at enhancing U.S.-Indonesia educational cooperation through initiatives complementing official programs and addressing key long-term areas of the educational relationship.   The five founding U.S. members of the Joint Council are:

  • Association of Public Land-grant Universities (APLU)
  • U.S.-Indonesia Society (USINDO)
  • American Association of Community Colleges (AACC)
  • East-West Center
  • Institute of International Education (IIE)

Less than four months after its founding, both President Obama and President Yudhoyono welcomed the Joint Council as a dynamic partner of the education component of the U.S.-Indonesia Comprehensive Partnership.  In the November 9, 2010 White House Press Release, President Obama called on the Joint Council to

“harness the energies of the non-governmental, public, and private sectors in both countries in support of expanding bilateral programs in higher education including to help build Indonesia’ s capacity to provide world class university education and to double within five years the number of American and Indonesian students who study in each other’s country.”

Since it’s founding, the Joint Council has added the following organizations, foundations, and corporations as key partners:

  • Association of American Universities (AAU)
  • NAFSA: Association of International Educators
  • World Learning
  • Ancora Foundation
  • Sampoerna Foundation
  • ExxonMobil Foundation
  • Caterpillar, Inc.
  • Freeport-McMoRan